London Borough of Croydon

What is adoption?

Many children, some with physical, emotional or learning disabilities, are in need of caring parents. Adoption is for those children who are unable to live with their birth parents and will not be able to return to them.

Adoption is a legal process. It transfers all legal rights and responsibilities relating to a child from its birth parent to approved adopters. The birth parent ceases to be the child's parents in law and have no further legal rights and responsibilities in relation to the child. The child receives a new birth certificate and takes on the surname of the adopters once an adoption order has been granted by the courts. More information can be found in our adoption information pack which can be downloaded below.

What sort of people are we are looking for?

Croydon is very keen to hear from adults of all racial, social, ethnic, cultural, sexual and religious background to adopt our looked after children whose permanency plan is adoption.

This includes people who are:

  • married or single
  • childless or have your own children
  • employed or unemployed; or
  • live in a council, rented or your own property.

You can find out much more in our information packs, but essentially we look for good people who can offer a stable and supportive home for a child and their needs until they reach adulthood.

To make an initial enquiry to Croydon Adoption Service

To express an interest in adoption, please fill out our online enquiry form  Once completed you will receive an Adoption Information Pack.We’ll pass your details on to our Adoption Team. Once processed, within 10 working days an experienced social worker will give you a call at a time that suits you to discuss the adoption criteria, your eligibility, and to answer any questions you may have.


Adoption Business Support

0208 726 6000 ext 64025
Address Line:

Adoption Business Support

Croydon Adoption and Permanence Team

7th Floor Jeanette Wallace House

1 Edridge Road



Help downloading files