London Borough of Croydon

Designation of an area for additional HMO licensing

The following wards have been identified as areas for additional licensing of Houses in Multiple Occupation (HMO) 2010:

Addiscombe, Ashburton, Bensham Manor, Broad Green, Coulsdon East, Coulsdon West, Croham, Fairfield, Heathfield, Kenley, Norbury, Purley, Sanderstead, Selhurst, South Norwood, Thornton Heath, Upper Norwood, Waddon, West Thornton, and Woodside.

This has General Approval under Section 58 of the Housing Act 2004 and will be effective from 24 August 2010.

Any landlord, person managing or tenant within these areas should seek advice from the HMO Team on whether their property is affected.

Failure to licence an HMO in the designated area is an offence and may result in a fine of up to £20,000. There may also be a rent repayment order for the time the HMO was unlicensed up to a maximum of 12 months.

You can read the designation by:

  • downloading it (see below)
  • visiting Bernard Weatherill House - please call the HMO Team for an appointment
  • emailing:

Information regarding the additional licensing scheme and licence application forms maybe obtained from the HMO Team (see contact details below).


Housing Standards and Enforcement Team

Adult Services, Health and Housing
020 8726 6100 ext. 63837
Address Line:

Croydon Council

3rd floor zone D

Bernard Weatherill House

8 Mint walk




Help downloading files