By-elections will take place on Thursday 6 May 2021 to fill casual vacancies for a Councillor in the following wards:

  • New Addington North Ward following the resignation of Councillor Simon Hall.
  • Woodside Ward following the resignation of Councillor Anthony Newman.
  • South Norwood Ward following the resignation of Councillor Jane Avis.
  • Kenley Ward following the resignation of Councillor Steve O’Connell.
  • Park Hill and Whitgift Ward following the resignation of Councillor Vidhi Mohan.

Notices of election were published on Monday 29 March.


The deadline to be nominated as a candidate in the by-elections has now past.

Download a list of candidates for the 6 May 2021 by-elections (PDF, 29 KB).

Elections alongside GLA elections

These by-elections will take place along-side the elections of the Mayor of London and Greater London Assembly. Voters will use the same polling stations on 6 May.

Voters in wards where a by-election is taking place will receive a separate poll-card relating to the by-election.

Voters in wards where a by-election is taking place who vote by post will receive a separate postal vote for the by-election. This will be a slightly different design to the one they will receive for the GLA election.

Unfortunately the production time needed to print poll cards and postal votes mean that there has not been possible to produce combined poll cards and postal votes packs for the GLA elections.

Registering to vote

The deadline for registering to vote for these elections is Midnight, Monday 19 April 2021. You can register to vote at GOV.UK

If you are already registered to vote, you do not need to re-register for this election. You can check if you are registered to vote by emailing We will aim to reply to your request within 3 working days.

Voting by post

If you're registered to vote, you can apply to vote by post. While the Returning Officer will take all necessary steps in order to make the polling stations Covid-safe, electors may wish to consider carefully whether they would rather vote by post while Covid measures are needed.

The deadline to apply for a new postal vote, or to amend or cancel and existing postal vote is Tuesday 20 April at 5pm.

Get more information on voting by post.

Postal votes will be dispatched from Wednesday 14 April 2021.

If you spoil or lose your postal vote you can apply for a replacement postal vote. Please contact Electoral Services if you think you need your postal vote re-issued. Postal votes must be returned by 10pm on Thursday 6 May. All postal votes have a pre-paid return envelopes.

If you are concerned about returning your postal vote in time, you may be interested to know that Royal Mail has 35,000 Priority Post Boxes across the UK, these boxes have late collection times, with 98% of the having a collection time of after 16.00. In many cases these Priority Post Boxes will also have an earlier collection as well and collections between 15.00 and 17.00 on both Saturday and Sunday.    You can find out if there is a priority box near you at .

Voting by proxy

If you're registered to vote, you can also apply to appoint a proxy (someone to vote on your behalf at their polling station) if you are unable to go to the polling station yourself.

The deadline to apply for a proxy vote is Tuesday 27 April at 5pm. The deadline to amend or cancel existing proxy votes is Tuesday 20 April at 5pm.

The person appointed as a proxy can apply to cast the vote by post, but must apply to do so by Tuesday 20 April at 5pm.

If you find out after 5pm on Tuesday 27 April that you are unable to vote at your polling station for employment reasons, or you have a medical emergency – including testing positive for COVID-19 or needing to self-isolate – then you can apply for an emergency proxy up to 5pm on election-day.

Get more information on voting by proxy.

Voting in polling stations

The Returning Officer will be introducing a number of measures in order to make voting at polling stations safe for electors and staff working at the. These measures include:

  • controlled access to polling stations to maintain safe distancing between electors and staff.
  • regular cleaning of high-touch surfaces
  • all staff and electors will be required to wear face-coverings
  • hand sanitation on entering the polling station
  • all venues will be assessed to ensure that they are Covid-safe and staff will be trained to ensure that measures are implemented correctly.

Electors are also being asked to bring their own pen or pencil to the polling station to use when they vote - to reduce the risk of spreading Coronavirus by not sharing pens or pencils with others.

Find out more about voting in polling stations.

It is expected that there will be more new polling stations this year than normal, because some are either unavailable, or unsuitable to implement the Covid safety measures. Please check where your polling station is located before you go out to vote, either on your poll card or on our polling station finder (from April 2021).

  Who can vote

You can vote in Council by-elections if you are:

  • a British citizen - excluding overseas electors
  • a qualifying Commonwealth citizen (including Cyprus and Malta)
  • from Ireland
  • a European Union citizen
  • registered to vote by no later than 19 April 2021  

File attachments